Sunday, 4 March 2018

Let’s have a walk around Lund University buildings in city centre!

The institutes and faculties of Lund University are located all around Lund. But some of the most fascinating buildings you can see in the centre of the city – in Lundagård and surroundings.

Universitetshuset – The Main University building

Designed by Helgo Zettervall, it was erected 1878-1882. The classically inspired facade is so amazing, though an interior.

The Toscan-Doric columns in the Atrium gallery, the Doric frieze with symbols of the faculties.

The hand-painted glass ceiling was renovated in 1974.

Look at that fantastic ceiling of the Aula, the main auditorium!

Palaestra et Odeum 

Palaestra et Odeum is Latin for gymnasium and music hall. Designed by Helgo Zettervall, the building was completed in 1883. It was used as a gymnasium for students and staff until 1980, when the building was devastated by fire. Today Palaestra houses lecture theatres. The Odeum part of the building uses as a rehearsal room for students involved in musical activities.

The facade is just amazing – with a two-storey construction in the centre and three-storey wings.

AF-Borgen – The Academic Society building

The Academic Society (Akademiska Föreningen, AF) is an association of students and academic staff. The building was inaugurated in 1851, the architect was H J Strömberg.

The idea was that everybody should find a place inside at the same time. Here you can find a large student cafe “Athens”, the restaurant Tegner and offices of a large number of student societies.

Gamla Kirurgen

The Old Surgery building designed by Helgo Zettervall as a part of the hospital site. Now it houses teaching rooms and staff offices.

The Old Bishop’s house

The Old Bishop house designed by the Lund’s cathedral architect and professor in Greek language Carl Georg Brunius.

It was built 1842 to expand the location for the Institutes of Chemistry, Physics and Zoological science. Then it was rebuilt till the Bishop’s apartment, and the Bishop Henrik Reuterdahl moved there in 1855. In 1993 K G Hammar, the bishop of Lund, decided to move to the old bishop’s residence on Krafts torg, the southern side from Cathedral.

Now The Old Bishop’s house is used for an official meetings and conferences by Lund University.

Welcome to Lund!

1 comment:

  1. Trekking in Nepal is delighted to welcome you tiny but amazing country. Natures to renew one’s own self regard to relive of beauty realize of Nepal Tour to interact with its generous friendly peoples are highlights of Nepal Trekking and is one long term activity that draws repeat visitors with Treks Himalaya trekking company. Nepal is final purpose for trekking offers numerous options walking excursion to meet snowy peaks, their foot hills, valleys but however there is amazing for each who hope Trek in Nepal and mountain area. Typical trekking and Hiking in Nepal as unique combination of natural glory of Annapurna Trekking and spectacular view of Langtang Trekking is most rewarding way to skill Nepal natural stunning view of Everest Trekking and array is to walking, trekking, width and the height of country. Trekking is important of Nepal Himalayas on description Nepal Travel of large range of ecological features for Nepal Holiday. The country nurtures a variety of flora and scenery. Addition to natural atmosphere is rich Himalayan culture. Many of visitor trek to different part of Nepal every year to experience its rustic charm, nature and culture. Most treks through areas between 1000 to 5185m, though some popular parts reach over 5648 meters. Every travelers knows for trekking from all over the words an exciting experience in Nepal.


Small travel guide on Lund in ENGLISH from Destination Lund Sweden

Finally! We have the small travel guide “Destination Lund” in English! It’s free of charge and suitable to all kinds of electro...